Angel in Flight

Gerry McCullough | News | Biography | Books | Stories | Poems | Articles | Photos | Podcast | Shop

Gerry McCullough
'Belfast Girls' - NOW available from Amazon.com. Click for more info!! 'Danger Danger' - NOW available from Amazon.com, etc. Click for more info!! Angel in Flight‚ the first Angel Murphy thriller‚ NOW available from Amazon, etc. Click for more info!! Angel in Belfast ‚ the 2nd Angel Murphy thriller‚ out now on Kindle (paperback coming soon!) Johnny McClintock’s War: One man's struggle against the hammer blows of life - out now on Kindle (paperback coming soon!) “The order NOW!!
The Seanachie: Tales of Old Seamus - NOW available on Kindle and from Amazon.co.uk. Click for more info!! Lady Molly & The Snapper - coming soon in Kindle & paperback editions
Follow Gerry (@Gerry1098) on Twitter 'Gerry McCullough - Irish writer & poet' on Facebook  Gerry's Books - blog 'Belfast Girls' podcast on iTunes 'The Seanachie: Tales of Old Seamus' podcast on iTunes 'Belfast Girls' podcast feed 'The Seanachie' podcast feed
Gerry McCullough    award-winning Irish writer & poet


Gerry McCullough
News
Events
Blog
Biography Books
Book reviews
Stories
Poems

Articles
Photos
Podcasts
Merchandise



Listen to Celtic Roots Radio podcast show
Listen to Celtic Roots Radio
24/7 Live365 station
NOW!


Raymond McCullough's new album, 'Different', out NOW!! Download tracks/album from iTunes Music Store ($3.96)
Buy album/MP3s from CDBaby.com CDBaby.com
Buy album from Amazon
  Angel in Flight
- book reviews (27)


***** Excellent thriller, Jul 09, 2014
By ChristophFischerBooks "Chris"

"Angel in Flight" by Gerry McCullough is an excellent and fast paced thriller set in beautiful Greece. Angeline Murphy, or Angel, is stunned when she spots her ex-husband Mickey in Athens of all places. She has more reasons than one to avoid him and so her holiday instantly becomes a tense affair.

The sense of tense urgency and danger is immediate in the writing, establishing a great dramatic curve; the setting is atmospheric and we know that there is more drama and complication to come, especially once she meets an old acquaintance, Frank, and then Josh Smith.

Angel is a great and surprisingly tough character who can hold her own against criminals, drunks and men. I liked her as the deep and thoughtful heroine that shows vulnerability and strength and one whose aim is not to find a man and live happily ever after.

The action is based around a vaccine for Malaria but the story is more evolved than that. It is a very entertaining and enjoyable thriller that showcases a very gifted writer.



***** Angel In Flight: The Hand of An Accomplished Author Is Clearly Evident, Apr 18, 2014
By Thomas Baker (Santiago, Chile)

"Angel in Flight" is a clever title for this book. It presents the reader with multiple interpretations, both literal and metaphorical, that can only be sorted out by reading the book. Of course, the term "angel" predisposes the sentiment of the reader favorably towards any character by this name who is in distress. We can be certain that we are in the hands of an accomplished author. Author Gerry McCullough does not disappoint, as the story opens, "in medias res".

Yes, we are in the middle of things. All we know is that a lady named "Angel" is being chased by men who evidently want to harm her. There is a sense of immediacy and urgency created by the short sentence fragments, coming at the reader as if we ourselves are experiencing these sights and sounds, and reacting to them in an effort to stay alive. By the time chapter one ends, we are fully sympathetic towards Angel. We are also fully engaged with this story. We are slowly losing track of time. All else fades away, time and space, hunger and thirst, nothing else matters, except the reading of this story. (Well done Gerry McCullough)

Yes, it’s a fast-paced read, it is exciting, and you can not put this book down. We are completely hooked. Gerry McCullough’s use of authorial techniques is masterful in this book. The cover is visually appealing, the title is clever, the "in medias res" technique is engaging, the protagonist is lovable from the moment we meet her and the back story is given out appropriately. Other reviewers have adequately covered the plot, there is no need for me to repeat their words in this review. "Angel In Flight" is highly recommended (five stars) for anyone who enjoys reading a good thriller. I’m sure you will agree with me that you are in the hands of an accomplished author who has a high level of authorial expertise. I look forward to reading more from this author in the future.

Reviewed by Thomas Jerome Baker
Author of ‘Boudicca: Warrior Queen

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.



***** A Thrilling Ride, Apr 14, 2014
By Born with Book

Angel in Flight is the first novel in the Angel Murphy thriller series by Gerry McCullough. Angel, fresh out of a bad marriage to an abusive husband, is vacationing in Greece when she becomes embroiled in a scheme by a pharmaceutical company to find and hide a newly-discovered vaccine for malaria so it can use it to make millions by charging far more for the vaccine than it costs to produce. Enter her ex-husband Mickey, a slew of bad guys on his trail, one Josh Smith, and a host of colorful characters from around the world, and you have the makings of a thrilling ride indeed. McCullough has written a fantastic book that captures your attention straight out of the gate. I read it over two sittings (only because I had to force myself to stop and focus on other things that needed my attention.) It’s fast-paced with lots of twists and turns. What I found most interesting was her inclusion of an international cast of characters – it’s fascinating to see how others view people from the United States since that’s where I’m from. All are believable and fun, even the bad guys. All-in-all a great start to the series, and I can’t wait to see where McCullough takes Angel from here.



***** A great read, Dec 30, 2013
By Amazon Customer

I very much enjoyed this book. It was very fast-paced with lots of action and suspense. Also a nice setting (Greece) and a great lead character (Angel Murphy). I’m looking forward to reading ‘Angel in Belfast’ which I’ve downloaded.



***** A Read to remember!, Nov 22, 2013
By Garyvdh

Great all round read ... I’ve been very busy lately but once I got into the book - I found myself trying to hurry other things up so I could read a bit further.
Gerry - great book - thanks :)



***** Great action packed read, Aug 6, 2013
By AnnE

I really enjoyed this book. I loved the characters and it was a story that kept me reading because I didn’t want to put it down. There were lots of twists and turns and it certainly kept me guessing until the final pages. Angle is quite a feisty heroine and I definitely look forward to reading more of her adventures.



**** a real page turner., July 31, 2013
By John Henshaw (Belfast, UK)

A very easy read, suitable for travel. Short chapters go by unnoticed as you get into the plot. Good locations interwoven with an almost believable plot.



***** Loved the setting and Angel is a tough cookie!, July 20, 2013
By Wanda "Wandah Panda" (Pretoria, South Africa)

I could not find this authors book - Angel in Flight so I am misusing this cover.

A brilliant author who uses the themes of old and new architecture to compliment old and new traditions which in turn spins off on a new start for our main protagonist while her past has not left her.

This is an author I will be keeping an eye on. She entertained me, thrilled me and kept me glued to the page.



***** Angel in Flight - WoW, July 18, 2013
By Sanmarie Lamprecht

I could not stop reading! It is a gripping thriller from beginning to the end. Gerry McCullough manages to take you away on the journey with Angel.



***** read this please!., Feb 7, 2013
By banker

Probably a bit biased being from NI - but loved it! Always a bit of trepidation reading an author from home, but this is a really good read. Better than Belfast Girls, looking forward to more from Gerry McCullough. Angel Murphy is a good character, and I’m from the other side of the divide.



**** Angel in Flight, Dec 31, 2012
By Sharon Demeritt

Good reading. Four stars. Good for an afternoon in front of the fireplace on a rainy or snowy day. Will probably purchase another book by this author.



**** A stellar thriller by a fine writer, Dec 15, 2012
By G. Polley "blogger and writ.er" (Sapporo, Japan)

Angel Murphy is an Irish lass I hope we see a lot more of in future novels with her in the lead. She is definitely not a woman to trifle with, and is my candidate for what I hope will be a new thriller series featuring her. I’m looking forward to reading more about her.



***** Fast-paced action that never stops!, Nov 22, 2012
By Cheryl Bradshaw "Author" (Wyoming)

Angel in Flight is a fast-paced, exciting read. From the moment I read the first line, I was hooked. The story opens to immediate action, letting the reader know the Angel is in danger, and making us wonder why. It isn’t until the next chapter that the audience finds out a little bit about who Angel is and why she is running, but the author doesn’t reveal everything all at once, it’s done in bits and pieces, leaving the reader wanting more.

The author has a talent for ending her chapters in such a way that leaves you wanting more, and I always enjoy this in a story. Each character is well written and captures the interest of the reader, especially when it comes to Josh, Angel, and Mickey. Even though the story is being told in the present, there are times the author goes back to give the reader a better picture of why things turned out the way they did. I enjoyed this--I felt it added a lot to the overall plot and realism of the story.

Angel faces a lot of danger in this book, and it’s very real. I enjoyed not being able to predict what would happen next or how the story would end. And speaking of the ending, I won’t give it away, except to say that it was my kind of ending. This is the first book I’ve read from this author, but it certainly won’t be my last. Highly recommended.



**** Action-Packed Angel!, Nov 22, 2012
By Kate Tenbeth "Kate" (Essex)

Angel made a mistake - she married an abusive man, Mickey Murphy, but she managed to get away from him, learnt self-defence, got a great job and started all over again (becoming a bit smarter and wiser along the way!). In Angel in Flight, she goes to Greece to get away from it all but soon finds herself up against her husband once more and embroiled in murder and mystery. Luckily, a handsome and attractive stranger makes an appearance! (I do love those handsome strangers!) I read this story on my journey into work and soon found myself caught up in it - Angel is an engaging character and you’re willing her to come out on top. It’s an exciting read, the colourful descriptions of Greece are spot on, the story is very entertaining but also has a serious side and I would definitely recommend it!



***** Angel is great, Nov 22, 2012
By PhantomDragon

this is a great book. the characters are very well put together. each personality may very well remind you of someone you may know. i found it very easy to get into. this was one of the best I have read in a while



***** Action Packed!!, Nov 15, 2012
By Book Review Buzz (Somewhere in the world : ))

"Bond, Jane Bond . . . " Angel Murphy is a sassy bigger then life heroine in an action packed adventure thriller in Greece. The fast, quick draw writing style pulls you immediately into the story. In the middle of danger and intrigue that revolves around her abusive ex-husband Mickey, she grows tired of his violence and upon discovering he has murdered someone, ends the marriage and heads to Greece for rest and relaxation. Mickey follows her and the action builds around a CD, a cure for malaria that a big pharmaceutical company is attempting to prevent being developed, in the game of money money. She intervenes in a bar fight, kicking the knife out of a brawler’s hand, saves a drowning child and finds herself slipping through the hands of violence, in beautiful scenes of the Mediterranean, a fiction-filled action foray for a sunny afternoon.



**** A Feisty Colleen., Sep 11, 2012
By Mr. John Holt (Witham, Essex, UK)

Angel is a tough Irish colleen who gets mixed up in some shady dealings regarding a drugs company, and a stolen computer disk. Then there’s a couple of murders thrown in, some characters who aren’t everything they seem to be. All in all an exciting, fast paced story set in the Greek Isles.



***** Angel in Flight., July 04, 2012
By Strawberry

Gerry, as an accomplished writer you manage every time to keep us on our toes. Thrilling, suspicion everywhere a surprise every turn of a page. Keep it up Gerry your books just keep getting better and better. Loved it. Great read.

Strawberry



***** A tough little devil., Aug 04, 2012
By barbara silkstone "barbara silkstone" (Florida, USA)

Angel Murphy is a tough little devil and a charming Irish gal. Author Gerry McCullough imbues the heroine of Angel in Flight with a sassy brogue and kick-butt attitude. Angel grows from an abused housewife to a force to be reckoned with, even as she carries lingering fears of her ex-husband, Mick. Escaping to Crete, is that the vicious Mick on Angel's trail? Or is some other plot afoot? I couldn't help but love this Gaelic gal. The descriptions of Greece were enchanting. The action scenes kept me on the edge of my seat. Excellent plot. Looking forward to seeing more of Angel Murphy in action!



**** Angel in Flight., July 11, 2012
By Soooz Burke

Gerry McCullough has been a favorite author of mine since I first read "Belfast Girls" then "Danger Danger"

Angel in Flight does not disappoint...in fact I’d go as far as saying this is my personal favorite. A thriller that packs a real punch.

Don’t read this work if Romance is all you are looking for. This goes way beyond the surface thrills of boy meets girl.

Angel Murphy has. through necessity (A turbulent marriage) learned self protection skills ... as the book progresses she will need them and then some.

In Greece on a holiday to regroup after her marriage ends, Angel finds herself caught up in far more than the stunning scenery ... although author Gerry Mccullough has that marvelous gift of taking you to Greece and with few words you are indeed dining and experiencing the Greek Islands...but and it’s a big BUT this is not a travelogue.

The tale is so seamlessly crafted that genre is unimportant. The pacing of the nightmare world that Angel Murphy finds herself flung into is as close to perfect as it gets...the underlying threat of a big pharmaceutical company being prepared to do whatever it takes to keep a vaccine that may prevent the horrors of Malaria under wraps. Money speaks their language...humanity can go to hell.

But Angel is not easily daunted.

She ...ah wait.. that would spoil the book for you, and it’s far too good to have that happen.

So...do yourself a favor...get yourself a copy, settle down and...I dare you to put it down. I couldn’t.

This is the start of a series, and this reviewer is eager for the next thriller from the multi-talented Gerry McCullough. Bravo!



**** Angel in Flight., July 04, 2012
By PaulineCumKristen (UK)

It’s not often I go the whole hog and award 5 stars for a book but this one certainly deserved it. I’m not one to disclose the story but I will say the characters are finely drawn, the action is fast and the writing is wonderful, as always. I only have to see the name Gerry McCullough on a book to know I’m in for a good read.

Highly recommended. Can't wait to what Angel gets up to next!



**** Angel in Flight., July 02, 2012
By Elinor Carlisle (Berkshire, UK)

Angel Murphy is on holiday in Greece recuperating emotionally from her abusive marriage.

She gets into a car mistaken for a taxi and is drawn into a web of intrigue and murder all centred on a CD containing data concerning a vaccine.

Ms McCullough’s evocative prose, realistic characterisation and brilliant dialogue make this a thriller which grips you from first page to last as you want to find out what happens to Angel.

If you enjoyed Belfast Girls you will adore Angel Murphy; a feisty heroine with panache and style yet all too aware of her own vulnerabilities.

I can’t recommend this highly enough and wish Amazon would allow more stars.



**** Angel in Flight., July 01, 2012
By Sheila M. Belshaw (UK, Menorca & Cape Town)

I love it when an author surprises me with something really different. Gerry McCullough, carrying on the tradition of fine Irish writing, is already a prize winning poet and short story writer, and a best-selling author of two novels, ‘Belfast Girls’ and ‘Danger Danger’, and has now broken into the thriller genre with the first of a new series featuring the spirited and energetic and very, very attractive heroine (though she doesn’t seem to know it), Angeline Murphy - though everyone calls her Angel.

This is one hell of a heroine. In spite of a disastrous marriage in Belfast, she picks up the pieces, puts herself together again, and armed with the hard shell of experience and a new qualification in self-protection, embarks on what should be a calm and peaceful recuperative holiday in Greece and the idyllic islands of the Aegean. But calm and peaceful is the last thing it turns out to be. Surprises galore await this indomitable young woman who is not afraid to defend herself in any situation, or try anything - even when it comes to flying for the first time an old Dakota, a DC3 aircraft I happen to know well as it was our means of transport on an isolated diamond mine in Tanzania where my husband worked for several years. Not an easy plane to fly.

But this isn’t the only adventure Angel has. There’s one nail-biting climax after another. And there’s a surprising and unexpected twist of a romance too, with a slow build-up you hardly realise is happening. And if you like fast moving thrillers in exotic settings - the details of which McCullough handles with her usual superb way of making you feel you are right there - under the blue skies, listening to the lapping of the tiny turquoise Mediterranean waves onto the yellow sands, tasting the scrumptious Greek food and the strange tang of the local Retsina wine, smelling the exotic aromas of the islands and at the same time holding your breath as Angel wangles her way out of danger after danger, then this book is for you.

But it isn’t all adventure and romance and exotic settings; there’s also an important, though elusive, thought-provoking issue at the core of this novel that happens to be close to my heart: the wholesale exploitation by the giant pharmaceutical companies of poor people who desperately need their drugs for survival, which in this novel concerns the money-grabbing prevention of a newly discovered cure for malaria by the mysterious, unidentifiable until the very end, unscrupulous arch villain of the story.



**** Angel in Flight., June 30, 2012
By Mr. Patrick Barrett (Nottinghamshire, England)

For me, Gerry McCullough established herself with ‘Belfast Girls’ and so any new release from her is very welcome. We have a heroine in ‘Angel’ who would easily transfer to the screen, either TV or the movies. The very visual settings of mainland Greece and Crete are a real aid to the escapism required for a book to grip its reader. Highly recommended.



**** Excellently described setting - I loved it!, June 21, 2012
By Albatross

I’ve read all this author’s books, and thoroughly enjoyed them, from Belfast Girls and Danger Danger to The Seanachie: Tales of Old Seamus - very enjoyable Irish short stories - and I’ve been looking forward to reading this new book since I first heard it was coming out. I bought it straight away (the day after it was published) and read it eagerly.

I was gripped from the start, kept on reading until I'd finished it, and can only say that I loved it. Gerry McCullough’s books just get better and better.

The setting in Greece is excellently done and really accurate - I’m constantly impressed by how well this author describes things. I’m not one for long, boring descriptions, but Gerry McCullough takes you straight into the place and makes you feel as if you were there, without losing the impetus of the action.

This is going to be the first of a series, apparently - which is great news! I’ll certainly be looking out for, and buying, the next one. I expect it’ll be even better than this one.



**** Excellently described setting - I loved it!, June 21, 2012
By preciousoil (Northern Ireland)

A new female hero has appeared - in the very attractive shape of Angel Murphy, a feisty wee girl from Belfast. This time around she is on holiday in Greece and the islands, where her recent difficult past catches up with her in the shape of both her ex-husband and her former employer from New York. One she definitely wants to avoid, the other is welcome - or is he? Angel Murphy has managed to turn her life around, but now that will all be put to the test. She cannot assume that anyone is who, or what, they say they are. There is no-one she can completely put her trust in. She is on her own, in a strange, though beautiful, country, with danger and death stalking her. The stakes are high - the lives of many more than those immediately involved are at stake. There are some surprises in store. Will Angel make it through? Will the truth be exposed? And will she still be the same person afterwards? This is apparently the first of a new series from Gerry McCullough (already a success with Belfast Girls and Danger Danger) - and it promises to be a gripping one! Angel has of necessity become a tough cookie. She is her own woman. She doesn’t need rescuing, coddling or to be protected from the truth. You have to take her at face value and make no assumptions. Yet, there is still a soft side to her underneath. If you like your female heroes to be tough and capable of looking after themselves, then Angel might be just what you’re looking for. I’m certainly looking forward to another Angel Murphy thriller very soon.



**** Action-Packed Angel!, June 13, 2012
By Kate Tenbeth "Kate" (Essex)

Angel made a mistake – she married an abusive man, Mickey Murphy, but she managed to get away from him, learnt self-defence, got a great job and started all over again (becoming a bit smarter and wiser along the way!).

In Angel in Flight, she goes to Greece to get away from it all but soon finds herself up against her husband once more and embroiled in murder and mystery. Luckily, a handsome and attractive stranger makes an appearance! (I do love those handsome strangers!)

I read this story on my journey into work and soon found myself caught up in it – Angel is an engaging character and you’re willing her to come out on top. It’s an exciting read, the colourful descriptions of Greece are spot on, the story is very entertaining but also has a serious side and I would definitely recommend it!


Back to top

This page last modified: Monday, 27-Nov-2011 21:20:32 GMT
Gerry McCullough | News | Biography | Books | Stories
Poems | Articles | Photos | Podcast | Shop


site map Precious Oil - Home Photos Publications Media
Precious Oil | Photos | Music | Publications | Media | About POP | Contact us